

Distinguished Educator in Teaching as Scholarship Award

Creighton University proudly honors its rich tradition of educational excellence and reflective teaching with the Distinguished Educator in Teaching as Scholarship Award, established in 2013. This university-wide award recognizes faculty who exemplify the highest standards of scholarly teaching, drawing inspiration from Ernest Boyer's *Teaching as Scholarship* and Lee Shulman's *Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL)*.

This prestigious award reflects Creighton's Jesuit commitment to cura personalis, academic rigor, and a holistic approach to learning. It underscores our belief that teaching is not only a practice but a scholarly pursuit, and it advances our institutional efforts to model, promote, and celebrate evidence-based teaching across all disciplines.

Purpose and Impact

Unlike department-specific or college-level teaching honors, this all-University award:

- Celebrates evidence-based excellence in teaching;
- Promotes teaching as a scholarly and reflective practice;
- Aligns with best practices for evaluating teaching in higher education;
- Strengthens Creighton's visibility in regional and national teaching award programs.

This award grows from the university's legacy of Carnegie campus conversations in the 1990s and the continued expansion of SoTL initiatives today.

Award Details

- Number of Recipients: Up to two faculty members are selected each year.
- **Recognition**: Awardees are honored each May at the Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony and are invited to co-lead a university-wide program that shares insights from their teaching and scholarship.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees must:

- Hold a full-time faculty appointment at Creighton University;
- Be at the rank of Associate Professor or higher;

Rev. 6.23.25



• Demonstrate a sustained commitment to the University's teaching mission and the pedagogical objectives of their primary academic unit.

Eligible faculty should be nominated and are required to submit:

- A personal statement;
- · Documentation of contributions to teaching;
- Evidence of a substantive body of work as an Educator Scholar.

Nomination Process

- Call for Nominations: Opens annually in September.
- Award Presentation: Takes place in April during the Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony.

Recipients of the Distinguished Educator in Teaching as Scholarship Award

2025

No nominees were awarded the Distinguished Education in Teaching as Scholarship award

2024

Julie Peterson, PT, DPT, EdD, Associate Professor of Physical Therapy, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

Patricia Soto-Becerra, PhD, Associate Professor of Physics, College of Arts & Sciences

2023

Amanda Kirkpatrick, PhD, RN, Associate Professor, College of Nursing Maggie Knight, DBA, CPA, CGMA, Associate Professor, Accounting & Business Intelligence & Analytics, Heider College of Business

2022

Lou Jensen, OTD, OTR/L, Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

Helene Lohman, OTD, OTR/L, FAOTA, Professor of Occupational Therapy, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

2021

Brian J. Kokensparger, MFA, PhD, Associate Professor of Computer Science, College of Arts and Sciences

Lorraine M. Rusch, PhD, RN, Associate Professor, College of Nursing

Rev. 6.23.25



2020

No nominees were awarded the Distinguished Education in Teaching as Scholarship award

2019

Lisa Black, DPT, PT, Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions **Mary Ann Danielson, PhD**, Professor of Communication Studies, College of Arts and Sciences

2018

Maya Khanna, PhD, Professor of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences Julie Manz, PhD, M.S., RN, Associate Professor, College of Nursing

2017

Kimberley J. Begley, PharmD, RPh, Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

Anne M. Schoening, Ph., RN, CNE, Associate Professor, Obstetric Nursing Faculty Development Coordinator, College of Nursing

2016

Jennifer Furze, PT, DPT, PCS, Associate Professor, Department of Physical Therapy, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

2015

Noam Ebner, LL.M., Associate Professor-Online Program Chair Werner Institute, School of Law **David Reed, Ph.D.,** Associate Professor and Director of Computer Sciences and Informatics, College of Arts and Sciences

2014

Gintaras Duda, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Physics, College of Arts and Sciences **Naser Zaki Alsharif, Pharm.D., PHD '92**, Professor of Pharmacy Sciences, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

This information sheet provides an overview of the Distinguished Educator in Teaching as Scholarship Award.

Rev. 6.23.25